Poword by Phpos!

Fresh batch from footy factory

ST PATRICK’S College Ballarat has always worn a proud legacy of being one of Australia’s premier footballing schools.

Liam Duggan

With another four players taken in this year’s AFL national draft, the St Pat’s footy factory has now released enough talent to field a current AFL list of its own.

First XVIII captain Liam Duggan (Bacchus Marsh, Western Jets) was the first to go in Thursday’s count, with West Coast taking the talented and well spoken onballer/defender at pick 11.

Oscar McDonald (Edenhope Apsley, North Ballarat Rebels) followed at pick 53 to Melbourne, with Dan Butler (Lake Wendouree, Rebels) joining the Tigers at 67, and Jesse Palmer (Swan Hill, Rebels) becoming the 22nd currently AFL- listed St Pat’s export at pick 78 to Port Adelaide.

St Pat’s football director Howard Clark was quick to sing the praises of TAC Cup clubs North Ballarat Rebels and Western Jets as well as BFL outfit Lake Wendouree, but said the school was not yet done with this year’s draft scene.

“It’s pretty exciting for us as well as the Rebels, Jets and Lake Wendouree,” he said.

“The draft went as I expected, but I think there’s a couple more who could go next Wednesday (in the rookie draft).

“I thought that Payney (Brenton Payne) would probably go on Thursday.”

Payne, a 193-centimetre lead-up forward, was overlooked alongside the pacy, sharp-kicking Tom Templeton.

“It’s a possibility that the dream remains open for them to be on an AFL list next year,” Clark said.

“Brenton tested really well at the combine and kicked four goals against WA in the nationals, and Tom won our best and fairest and is an elite kick of the footy.”

Clark hopes the duo will follow the likes of Dallas Willsmore, who was taken by premier Hawthorn in the 2013 rookie draft before being upgraded to its senior list.

“The most important thing we can do is provide a program based on values,” he said.

“There’s a great culture now and it’s culture that’s been the driving force behind our success.”


B, Mitch Brown (WC), Tom McDonald (Melb), Nick O’Brien (Ess); HB, Liam Duggan (WC), Nathan Brown (Coll), Martin Gleeson (Ess); C, Matt Rosa (WC), Josh Cowan (Geel), Shaun Grigg (Rich); HF, Nick Suban (Freo), Michael Close (Bris), Clinton Young (Coll); F, Jake Neade (Port), Drew Petrie (NM), Dallas Willsmore (Haw); R, Tom Downie (GWS), Brad Crouch (Adel), Matthew Crouch (Adel); Int, Dan Butler (Rich), Oscar McDonald (Melb), Jesse Palmer (Port), Tanner Smith (Freo).

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.

Comments are currently closed.